Voriconazole

The antifungal I was prescribed came with an initial warning; a fair percentage of it’s users experienced temporary blindness. In practice, I experienced blurred vision, a loss of coordination, water retention, increased urination, excruciating joint pain, and nausea.

I’d compare it to eating too many Vivarin with a mouth full of powdered alum, although I have know way of knowing how many of these effects were a byproduct of interaction with the prednisone. This morning, to confirm what I’d suspected all along, I took a survey posted on Scientific American with relation to IQ which scored in twelve different tests; in each one, with a couple of minor exceptions, I scored well towards the bottom of the curve.

In short; I’m not ignoring anyone; I’m just too out of it to talk much.

Certainly there are worse regimens out there, unpleasant though this was, but there was one small, bright spot a couple of hours ago. I was in, sitting on the can, staring at the wall, and realized that I was hallucinating seeing the knot holes dripping down the pine paneling in the bathroom. There is no question that the effects of this drug are cumulative.

And tonight, between the vfend and the oxycodone, I had to marvel at a substance so powerful that anyone without my exposure to similar experiences probably would have lost their shit.

But I am SO fucking glad I’m done with it for a while.

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (2)
    • Laroquod
    • November 2nd, 2010

    Wow man; that is obviously some heavy, trippy shit. I hope the medical effects are as strong as the psychological ones.

    • Max Bell
    • November 2nd, 2010

    So far, so good. It’s clear that it will be a few days before this stuff is completely out of my system.

Comments are closed.
